Top 150 Social Media Marketing Blogs: Sept ‘10

Here are the top 150 Social Media Marketing Blogs as of Sept 2010:

  • Chris Brogan, Jeremiah Owyang, and Brian Solis are consistently the most influential of the pack with posts from social media metrics, to insightful web strategies.
  • The top movers/new entrants in our top influencer in social media marketing are:

SocialTimes.com
Creative Traction
Planting Seeds
(3i)
Third Eye by Shambhu Neil Vineberg. Vineberg moved up the fastest and offers thoughts on a variety of topics, including technology, media and public relations.
Interestingly enough,Vineberg experienced a huge lift because he was referenced by influencial bloggers during ‘Age of Conversation 3’ in May 2010.

The chart above shows the number of conversations per week in the past 6 months mentioning Vineberg’s blog.  Data point from eCairn Conversation(tm).

  • Over half of the top 150 influencers in social media marketing moved up or down more than 30 positions since March 2010 (link here to post).

######
Oct 12 update: Added Mitch Joel (http://www.twistimage.com/blog aka http://www.twistimage.com).
######
Oct 13 update: Last week’s post on the top 150 Social Media Blogs generated several thousands of visits, and has been generating a lot of interest.

Webinar to answer top questions like "How are the rankings calculated?" and "How are the communities defined and mapped?"

Since the response has been so high the eCairn team will be hosting a special webinar to answer some of the questions you might have including top asked: “How are the rankings calculated?” and “how are the communities defined and mapped?”

We will also be tackling one of the key challenges in marketing: “How do I find key influencers to increase my product/brand awareness?”

As a big treat for the audience, we will show the social graph of that community, and look at its current topics of interest.

Please tune in our webinar Tuesday October 19th @ 9:30!

Register here: www.ecairn.com/webinars or get someone to talk to: eCairn team.

######

Rank Name URL Trend Move
1 Chris Brogan http://www.chrisbrogan.com UP 0
2 Jeremiah Owyang http://www.web-strategist.com/blog UP 0
3 Brian Solis http://www.briansolis.com UP 0
4 Social Media Explorer http://www.socialmediaexplorer.com UP 3
5 Seth’s Blog http://sethgodin.typepad.com UP 0
6 Conversation Agent http://www.conversationagent.com UP 0
7 Logic+Emotion http://darmano.typepad.com DOWN -3
8 PR-Squared http://www.pr-squared.com UP 0
9 Online Marketing http://www.toprankblog.com UP 1
10 Jaffe Juice http://www.jaffejuice.com UP 9
11 Social Media Strategy http://www.convinceandconvert.com UP 25
12 Scobleizer http://www.scobleizer.com DOWN -3
13 Shel Holtz http://blog.holtz.com UP 2
14 CopyBlogger http://www.copyblogger.com
15 SocialMediaExaminer http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com UP 60
16 Social Media Today http://www.socialmediatoday.com/SMC UP 4
17 Web Ink Now http://www.webinknow.com UP 0
18 MarketingProfs Daily Fix http://www.mpdailyfix.com DOWN -4
19 Mich Joel http://www.twistimage.com/blog
20 Internet Marketing http://blog.hubspot.com UP 18
21 Search Engine Land http://www.searchengineland.com DOWN -4
22 Ducttape Marketing http://www.ducttapemarketing.com UP 0
23 MarketingProfs http://www.marketingprofs.com DOWN -11
24 Altitude Branding http://www.altitudebranding.com
25 BuzzMachine http://www.buzzmachine.com DOWN -11
26 Micro Persuasion http://www.micropersuasion.com DOWN -13
27 SocialMediaMarketing http://www.scottmonty.com DOWN -1
28 Steve Rubel Stream http://www.steverubel.com DOWN -1
29 The Viral Garden http://moblogsmoproblems.blogspot.com DOWN -10
30 Drew McLellan http://drewsmarketingminute.com UP 0
31 How to Change the World http://blog.guykawasaki.com DOWN -7
32 Dave Fleet http://www.davefleet.com UP 8
33 ProBlogger http://www.problogger.net DOWN -4
34 Personal Branding http://personalbrandingblog.com UP 34
35 The Buzz Bin http://www.livingstonbuzz.com DOWN -4
36 Internet Marketing News http://www.marketingpilgrim.com UP 0
37 Harte of Marketing http://theharteofmarketing.com UP 6
38 B.L. Ochman http://www.whatsnextblog.com DOWN -6
39 Peter Kim http://www.beingpeterkim.com DOWN -14
40 Greg Verdino http://gregverdino.typepad.com DOWN -6
41 Liz Strauss http://www.successful-blog.com
42 iMedia Connection http://www.imediaconnection.com UP 9
43 Communication Overtones http://overtonecomm.blogspot.com DOWN -8
44 SmartBlog http://smartblogs.com/socialmedia UP 40
45 Brand Builder http://thebrandbuilder.wordpress.com DOWN -6
46 Servant of Chaos http://www.servantofchaos.com UP 13
47 SocialTimes.com http://www.socialtimes.com UP 315
48 Social Media Club http://www.socialmediaclub.org UP 1
49 Influential Marketing http://rohitbhargava.typepad.com DOWN -1
50 Danny Brown http://www.dannybrown.me UP 54
51 Bad Pitch http://badpitch.blogspot.com DOWN -5
52 Search Engine Journal http://searchenginejournal.com UP 10
53 Arik C. Hanson http://www.arikhanson.com
54 Marshall Sponder http://www.webmetricsguru.com
55 Socialnomics http://www.socialnomics.net UP 48
56 Strategic Public Relations http://prblog.typepad.com UP 30
57 Internet Writings http://www.shirky.com UP 8
58 PR Measurement http://kdpaine.blogs.com DOWN -14
59 Social Media Consultant http://jmo+C28rganmarketing.com UP 51
60 ConverStations http://www.converstations.com DOWN -5
61 SEO Blog http://www.seomoz.org/blog UP 14
62 Edelman http://www.edelmandigital.com
63 Outspoken Media http://www.outspokenmedia.com UP 1
64 GlobalNeighbourhoods http://redcouch.typepad.com DOWN -36
65 Christopher S. Penn http://www.christopherspenn.com UP 15
66 Nick Burcher http://www.nickburcher.com UP 75
67 Conversation Marketing http://conversationmarketing.com UP 158
68 Inside Marketers Studio http://www.marketersstudio.com UP 29
69 Mack Collier http://www.mackcollier.com
70 Spin Sucks http://www.spinsucks.com
71 Sphinn / Hot Topics http://www.sphinn.com UP 35
72 Brains On Fire Blog http://www.brainsonfire.com/blog DOWN -11
73 POP! PR Jots http://pop-pr.blogspot.com DOWN -21
74 Church of the Customer http://churchofthecustomer.com DOWN -21
75 Search Engine Marketing http://www.searchenginewatch.com DOWN -1
76 Peter Shankman http://www.shankman.com
77 Shannon Paul http://www.veryofficialblog.com UP 0
78 We Are Social http://www.wearesocial.net UP 1
79 Customers Rock http://www.customersrock.net UP 55
80 Stowe Boyd http://www.stoweboyd.com DOWN -39
81 Techipedia http://www.techipedia.com DOWN -15
82 Brand Autopsy http://brandautopsy.typepad.com DOWN -37
83 Andy Sernovitz http://www.damniwish.com DOWN -36
84 Web Worker Daily http://www.webworkerdaily.com DOWN -21
85 Marketing Fresh Peel http://www.freshpeel.com UP 35
86 Geoff Livingston http://www.geofflivingston.com
87 Edward Boches http://www.edwardboches.com
88 Simple Marketing http://www.simplemarketingblog.com UP 189
89 Socialmedia.biz http://www.socialmedia.biz DOWN -4
90 Going Social Now http://www.goingsocialnow.com UP 31
91 Age of Conversation http://www.ageofconversation.com UP 58
92 Source Of Inspiration http://www.asourceofinspiration.com UP 76
93 Business Communications http://www.directortom.com UP 222
94 PR Guy’s Musings http://www.stuartbruce.biz UP 1
95 AdPulp http://www.adpulp.com UP 19
96 Adverblog http://www.adverblog.com UP 6
97 Hitwise Intelligence http://weblogs.hitwise.com DOWN -30
98 Global Neighbourhood http://globalneighbourhoods.net
99 Media Hunter http://www.mediahunter.com.au
100 Jye Smith http://www.jyesmith.com
101 Fresh Networks http://www.freshnetworks.com/blog
102 Andrea Vascellari http://www.andreavascellari.com UP 183
103 Digital Biographer http://www.digitalbiographer.com UP 185
104 Community Guy http://www.communityguy.com DOWN -17
105 Jon Burg http://jburg.typepad.com/future UP 32
106 Shake Gently http://www.shakegently.com UP 273
107 Communications Consultant http://www.prblogger.com DOWN -36
108 The Flack http://theflack.blogspot.com DOWN -10
109 Techno//Marketer http://technomarketer.typepad.com DOWN -53
110 Branding Strategy Insider http://brandingstrategyinsider.com DOWN -11
111 Marketing & Strategy http://blog.futurelab.net DOWN -28
112 Eric Brody http://www.ericbrodysblog.com
113 Connie Bensen http://www.conniebensen.com
114 Online Communities http://blog.leadernetworks.com
115 Creative Traction http://www.creativetraction.com UP 437
116 Planting Seeds http://www.plantingseeds.ca/blog UP 475
117 StickyFigure http://brandimpact.wordpress.com UP 2
118 Citizen Marketer 2.1 http://blog.stroutmeister.com DOWN -13
119 Collective Conversation http://blogs.hillandknowlton.com DOWN -12
120 Marketing and Branding http://.mokummarketing.com/blog UP 235
121 The Future Buzz http://www.thefuturebuzz.com UP 17
122 Doug Haslam http://www.doughaslam.com DOWN -34
123 The Ad Contrarian http://adcontrarian.blogspot.com UP 131
124 Dan Zarrella http://www.danzarrella.com DOWN -13
125 (3i) http://3i.wildfirestrategy.com UP 593
126 Drew B http://theblogconsultancy.typepad.com DOWN -3
127 Tom Murphy http://www.tpemurphy.com/blog DOWN -3
128 Ogilvy http://blog.ogilvypr.com DOWN -36
129 Emergence Marketing http://emergencemarketing.com DOWN -69
130 Pro PR http://www.propr.ca DOWN -60
131 VIRALBLOG.COM http://www.viralblog.com UP 96
132 Adliterate http://www.adliterate.com DOWN -75
133 Deal Books http://dealbook.blogs.nytimes.com
134 Deirdre Breakenridge http://www.deirdrebreakenridge.com
135 Sysomos Blog http://blog.sysomos.com UP 25
136 Third Eye http://vinebergcommunications.wordpress.com/ UP 658
137 ToughSledding http://toughsledding.wordpress.com UP 6
138 Social Organization http://www.thesocialorganization.com DOWN -60
139 HPC | Marketing Uncommon http://www.horsepigcow.com DOWN -89
140 FeverBee http://www.feverbee.com UP 25
141 New Comm Biz http://www.newcommbiz.com DOWN -60
142 Brendan Cooper http://www.brendancooper.com DOWN -53
143 Brandflakesforbreakfast http://www.brandflakesforbreakfast.com UP 29
144 CK’s Blog http://www.ck-blog.com DOWN -72
145 Forrester http://blogs.forrester.com/marketing DOWN -112
146 Advertising Lab http://adverlab.blogspot.com DOWN -73
147 Search Engine Guide http://www.searchengineguide.com DOWN -46
148 Paul Dunay http://www.pauldunay.com
149 Jeffbullas’s Blog http://www.jeffbullas.com UP 86
150 Wadds’ PR Blog http://speedcommunications.com/blogs/wadds UP 48
151 PR Conversations http://www.prconversations.com UP 36

If would like more information on how we map communities and how to market to industry influencers, tune into our FREE webinar every week (Tuesday @9:30). Click here to register on our webinar.

Any feedback on the relevance of this list is warmly welcome as an opportunity to progress: eCairn team.

References:

50 thoughts on “Top 150 Social Media Marketing Blogs: Sept ‘10

  1. Here’s to some new names at the top soon.

    Good to see the likes of Danny Brown gaining well, he’s one of the most consistent bloggers out there today.

    Expect to see Spin Sucks and The Flack higher next time too.

  2. I like these kinds of upward trends :-).

    On the serious side, I love that you are paying attention to influencer patterns in the marketing community and sharing them on a periodic basis. As Ben Johnston says, it’s good to see new names including the likes of Danny Brown.

    Merci!

    Best,
    CB

  3. Hello eCairn team! This is a great resource for following bloggers who I know are working hard to provide solid content. Folks like Gini Dietrich and her team (Spin Sucks) and Arik Hanson and Shannon Paul. Hope to see some of these blogs closer to the top in the future.

    Beth Harte
    The Harte of Marketing
    @bethharte

    1. @ greg, this is the top 150 from the English speaking Social Media Marketers. It’s ranked based on cross references and usually English speaking blog do not reference non English speaking authors.

  4. Why haven’t you included Mitch Joel’s blog? http://www.twistimage.com/blog/
    Is this a genuine mistake or a deliberate omission? Seriously, how are the rankings calculated?
    Wait, where is Mashable ? 🙂
    As much as i’d like to appreciate your efforts, i’d have to conclude your rankings are fundamentally flawed. Sorry!

    1. @Nibras, Sylvain, Mitch Joel is in our list (we’ve over 2000 blogs from the social media community discovered by our app) but he’s not in the top150.

      This may come from his url (if you try http://twistimage.com, you’ll understand). We will doublecheck.

      As for Mashable, it is not in as we considered it more as a mainstream media.

      Thanks for the comments

      1. @ Nibras, Mitch Joel should be #19. We’ll correct the list. He hides himself too well with his url: /twistimage/blog whereas people refer to him differently.

        1. @ Mitch. It is corrected. Sorry for the inconvenience. It actually came from the two different urls. I’m sending you your “social footprint in the social media community”,it’s impressive.

  5. What a valuable list of resources all in one place! Thank you for sharing as I will never again say I don’t have anything to read or I’m out of resources as we launch our new lines. So many blogs I hadn’t heard about. Just a huge resource and a huge thanks!

    These blogs provide me with valuable insight as B. Square Clothing tries to stay at the fore-front for our fans.

    Kristen Sonsma
    Chief Strategist
    Be sure to ‘Like’ us at http://www.facebook.com/bsquareclothing
    @bsquareclothing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *